# THE AMERICAN WAR OF INDEPENDENCE

Nella seconda metà dell'800 l'Inghilterra aveva già delle colonie.

I coloni vogliono dunque veder riconosciuti i loro diritti in quella che è chiamata la Guerra d'Indipendenza.

In 1760 the American colonies were rich and populated by educated religious and political refugees and economic migrants.

When George III come to the throne in 1760, Britain was in control of these colonies and was enjoying a period of domestic stability and economic expansion.

The cause of the revolt by the colones was the taxation the Britain government imposed to them because of their defence in that places.

On such tax was on the important of tea. At Boston Tea Party in 1773, rebels, dressed as Native Americans, threw the hated tea from Britain into the Boston Harbor.

For colonies the taxes were unjust has the colonies hadn't political power. For this reason come in light the slogan:" No taxation without representation".

The American cause was supported by Edmond Burke.

The americans were divided into "Patriots" and "loyalists" when the War of Independence began in 1775. The Patriots had no army while the British Loyalists had an army, but it was too small to both attack and defend what it had won, and was two months distance from supplies and orders. The deciding factor was the support of the French to the Patriots (the french fleet prevented the British navy from aiding the Loyalists).

On 4th July 1776 in Philadelphia, the Continental Congress signed the "Declaration of Independence", written by Thomas Jefferson, with which colonies become a new nation. All mans had a natural right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. It also stated that governments can only claim the right to rule if they have the approval of those they govern - "the consent of the governed".

With the Treaty of Versailles in 1783, Britain recognized the independence of its former colonies. The new republic of United States adopted a federal constitution in 1878 and George Washington became the first president in 1789.

exercises at page 196 THE SYSTEM OF FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

### THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH

The Legislative Branch consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form the United States Congress.

### CONGRESS

The Constitution grants Congress the sole authority to enact legislation and declare war, the right to confirm or reject many Presidential appointments, and substantial investigative powers.

#### THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The House of Representatives is made up of 435 elected members, divided among the 50 states in proportion to their total population. In addition, there are 6 non-voting members, representing the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and four other territories of the United States. The presiding officer of the chamber is the Speaker of the House, elected by the Representatives. He or she is third in the line of succession to the Presidency.

#### THE SENATE

The Senate is composed of 100 Senators, 2 for each state. Until the ratification of the 17th Amendment in 1913, Senators were chosen by state legislatures, not by popular vote. Since then, they have been elected to six-year terms by the people of each state. Senator's terms are staggered so that about one-third of the Senate is up for reelection every two years. Senators must be 30 years of age, U.S. citizens for at least nine years, and residents of the state they represent.

#### THE EXECUTIVE BRANCH

The power of the Executive Branch is vested in the President of the United States, who also acts as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces.

#### THE PRESIDENT

The President is both the head of state and head of government of the United States of America, and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces.

Under Article II of the Constitution, the President is responsible for the execution and enforcement of the laws created by Congress.

## THE CABINET

The Cabinet is an advisory body made up of the heads of the 15 executive departments. Appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate, the members of the Cabinet are often the President's closest confidants. In addition to running major federal agencies, they play an important role in the Presidential line of succession — after the Vice President, Speaker of the House, and Senate President pro tempore, the line of succession continues with the Cabinet take the offices in the order in which the departments were created. All the members of the Cabinet take the title Secretary, excepting the head of the Justice Department, who is styled Attorney General.

## THE JUDICIAL BRANCH

Where the Executive and Legislative branches are elected by the people, members of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Article III of the Constitution, which establishes the Judicial Branch, leaves Congress significant discretion to determine the shape and structure of the federal judiciary. Even the number of Supreme Court Justices is left to Congress — at times there have been as few as six, while the current number (nine, with one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices) has only been in place since 1869. The Constitution also grants Congress the power to establish courts inferior to the Supreme Court, and to that end Congress has established the United States district courts, which try most federal cases, and 13 United States courts of appeals, which review appealed district court cases.